Diving into Hot Tea Month Tastebuds First

[Want your product featured on this e-zine? Send me an email with the info or contact me through Facebook.]

It’s January. Hot Tea Month. Normally, I ignore it. After all, tea is all day, all week, all month, and all year at our house. My gang of teapots, gaiwans, etc., collectively known as the Tea Gang, wouldn’t have it any other way. Neither would hubby and I. But this year, we shrugged and said, “Why not?” So we’re diving into Hot Tea Month tastebuds first. Ready, set, go…

Tea_Blog_SampleRoundup1

Giving Flavored Teas Another Try

In the past, I had welcomed flavored tea samples from various vendors. Some weren’t too bad. Others were awful. They all had one thing in common: the tea flavor was drowned out. However, I recently said yes to some more flavored tea samples from a vendor who had previously specialized in only straight premium teas. I had thought to myself, “Well, maybe these are different.” So far, my adventures with these samples haven’t turned out too badly – in some cases I could even taste the tea. There are quite a few more to try along with some flavored oolongs from Taiwan.

An Herbal or Two Comes Along for the Ride

I still can’t bring myself to use the term “herbal tea” (ack! I just did!) but I am finding a few of the herbal samples to be quite surprising and so am not totally dreading trying the remaining samples. Rooibos (redbush), misnamed “red tea,” is still, however, on my “Ugh! You’ve got to be kidding me!” list, but there is an orange flavored one in the lineup that shows promise, and the chocolate flavored one was pretty okay, especially with marshmallows. We’ll see how the other herbals do.

Bringing It All Back to Those Premium Straight Teas

Unless anyone thinks I have totally forsaken those premium straight teas, we have plenty on hand to try. In fact, the folks at one tea vendor have been very good about me not getting to try the Darjeeling samples they sent quite a few months ago. Life got a bit hectic, some things changed, and… well, you know how it goes. Plus, the good folks at Golden Tips Tea sent quite a few samples, and I have more premium teas from another vendor. So, we need to buckle down and get to them all. Yes, it’s a full agenda, and one that our tastebuds will certainly thank us for.

May your month of January, as well as the rest of your year, be equally as flavorful!

© 2015 A.C. Cargill photos and text

Leave a Reply

