Time to Sashay with Chocolate Dream

[Want your product featured on this e-zine? Send me an email with the info or contact me through Facebook.]

by Little Yellow Teapot (a tea steeping marvel and occasional contributing author to this e-zine)

Your intrepid little teapot here to share another adventure in the world of tea with you humans.

WiT_JAS-ChocDream1

First, just a quick reminder that since my humans moved from the east coast to central U.S. my hangout has changed from the nice granite kitchen counter my humans had had installed there to the dining table, a lovely wood one. In that other house the table was in the dining room in front of a bay window. They had set up birdbaths out in the yard so they could see the birdies frolicking in them. It was their meal time entertainment. Now the table sits in the dining room of their current house in front of a box window that has beautiful light coming through the white sheer curtains during certain times of the day. So we held our little tea party there. Note the lamp – the base is handmade by a potter and my humans bought it at a craft fair years ago. Nice and shiny. You can see me and the tea reflected in it.

About the Tea

It comes in a pyramid sachet, so of course I did not steep it ’cause I’m strictly a loose leaf kinda teapot. Sure I could have had my humans cut the sachet open and dump the loose tea inside me, but part of the try out here is the sachet itself. Sometimes they fall apart, as happened to us not long ago. This one held up like a champ, though, in this dear eggshell-thin bone china beauty ‘she’cup. Boiling water, 3 minutes to steep, the sachet was set aside, and my humans got to experience the tea.

The tea has a Ceylon black tea base that infused up a nice amber colored liquid. The flavor was not very robust like other Ceylon teas, but the light chocolate notes (from actual chocolate bits) helped, and my humans found that a touch of sweetener is the perfect thing.

WiT_JAS-ChocDream2

My humans have never found teas with chocolate in them to be that successful. Chocolate is better in coffee, according to my ‘he’ human. And they are certainly not like a cup of hot cocoa. But you can pair chocolates and tea as things to eat and drink together. We found that this little tea party was basically a nice break away from some of the single estate, premium, and generally finer straight teas. Spring teas are on their way. Some of the lower elevation teas are coming on the market, with higher elevation teas to come later (probably mid to late April or even early May).

Disclaimer: all items were furnished by the vendor but all opinions expressed here are totally unbiased.

© 2015 A.C. Cargill photos and text

Leave a Reply

